This is a site which is a list of items that I have for sale. This is US only because of the cost of shipping. Each post will have the cost of the book plus shipping.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Mad Miss Mimic by @SarahHenstra #BookReview

 
Title: Mad Miss Mimic
Author: Sarah Henstra
Published: May 2015
Publisher: Razorbill Canda
Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Romance 
Rating: 4 ****
Add to Goodreads 
Click To Order

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein. 

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.






Sarah Henstra is a professor of English at Ryerson University, where she teaches courses in Gothic Literature, Fairy Tales & Fantasy, and Women in Fiction. Some of her best story ideas come from class discussions. She lives in Toronto with her husband, two sons, and a poodle named Nora. Mad Miss Mimic is her first novel.





When I made the split second decision to grab one of my paperback books to read today. I didn't know what to expect. I hadn't read what this book was about. I just grabbed it because of the cover. It's so pretty!! What I found in the pages was another story about the opium trade in the late 1800's. And it was very similar to that of The Forbidden Orchid by Sharon Biggs Waller. Which I just finished a few days ago. These were both books about girls who lived in a time where women didn't have many rights if any. And they were to be seen and not heard. Well in Leo's case she had the issue of shuddering when she spoke. Or mimicking another's personal from their voice down to how they acted. I really loved how Mimic took over sometimes and pretty much got Leo in heaps of trouble. But also sad since Leo didn't have control over herself. 

This story was a gem! Although it isn't one that I say omg everyone needs to read this. It was one that I enjoyed. It did have its slow parts and its slightly meh parts that were slightly slow and boring. But then you would get these other parts that just leaped of the page! This was a great story filled with mystery, intrigue, some romance, danger, and a girl who just needs to find her true voice. 


Things you Need to Know! 
I recommend this to those who want something both light and fun!













"All opinions are 100% honest and my own." 




















 Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these above links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. This money gets used to buy items for giveaways. In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. I am in no way compensated for any reviews on this site. All donations are to help keep this site running via costs from shipping, .com charges, and other giveaways.


Don't forget to check out our Twitter, Instagram! 
@TheBookAddicts  

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

The Book Addicts Published @ 2014 by Ipietoon